McDonald’s Southwest Salad

McDonald’s Southwest Salad

5 Stars

(With grilled chicken: 320 calories, 9 g fat,3 g sat. fat, 30 g carbohydrates, 7 g fiber, 30 g protein)

(With crispy chicken: 400 calories, 16 g fat,4 g sat. fat, 41 g carbohydrates, 7 g fiber, 25 g protein)

According to the WWatchers formula this salad is worth exactly 5.75 points.

Wow I have to say- This salad completely rocked my McDonald’s world! I have always hated it when my parents decided to ” go out” only to end up eating at a place like this- you know your typical waaay calorie overloaded fast food joint, where even the salads aren’t “safe”. BUT, I take it all back now and I have a feeling trips will be much more pleasant, because the Southwest Salad has opened my eyes to the beauty of fast food.

I bought the grilled chicken version of the Southwest salad at McDonald’s. Unfortunately, or fortunately, and didn’t even need to try the salad dressing (but I hear from others that it is very good, it is made by Newman’s Own)! There were so many flavors already in the salad that I didn’t need the dressing at all, and the lime was a nice flavor touch too! A great feature of this salad is that there is just so much to it. Other salads from fast food joints that I have tried had TONS of lettuce and then a tiny little serving of extra stuff, this salad has a nice balance between lettuce and the sides.

Of course just because this salad was delicious and not that bad doesn’t mean that all fast food salads are safe- I’d definitely do some serious research before jumping off into the fast food salad category.

Here are some other sites that have looked at this very popular salad:

Southwest Salad Challenge This article at Associated Content compares the Southwest Salads from Arby’s to those at McDonald’s.

Diet Detective The Diet Detective names the McDonald’s Southwest a “Calorie Bargain” and reviews the taste and cost.

I’d definitely recommend this yummy and filling salad to others, and now that I’ve tried it, McDonald’s isn’t that daunting of a prospect! Although for some the price is a con, I can certainly understand and felt myself cringe when faced with the choice to buy a cheap burger or an almost five dollar salad… Ultimately, I know a lot of people are trying this salad though, and because it is a fast food joint quality can vary from place to place- so leave a comment and let me know what you thought of it- yea or nay?

Since I ate the salad and loved it my mom has also tried it. While she normally would order a quarter pounder meal with fries ever since trying the salad she has been hooked. I’m excited for McDonald’s and that this salad is getting so much press and doing so well, because hopefully it means changes for fast food in the future : ) We can dream right?

11 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    kelsea said,

    i love this salad! im also tempted to buy the burger and fries because they are just cheap and good..well i tried this salad and i love it!! i get the grilled chicken and i love the dressing! its by far one of the best salads ive had! its also convienient because there are so many mcdonalds out there. the price isnt bad either. it tastes like you are eating at a fine restaurant! im also happy about the calories i was doing some research because i thought the calories were going to be high but they arent so i love this salad!

  2. 2

    I have eaten at some of the most impressive restuarants around the world and the McDonalds crispy southwest salad beats all of them for the price and taste. I am so glad this is FAST FOOD. The fat calories count is higher than many choices but certainly not too far off target even with crispy.

  3. 3

    K said,

    I LOVE this salad. I have it like 3 times a week. Maybe once I used 1/4 of the dressing, but the flavor from the glazed grilled chicken, the lime and tortilla strips and veggies…you really don’t need the dressing at all. I just wish I knew how to make this salad…I could eat it everyday and save so much freakin money!!

  4. 4

    joey said,

    i recently took a long trip and started eating the southwest salad rather than burgers. it was delicous and now that i am home i go there for the salad. the only problem is mickyd is discontinuing it.

  5. 5

    Yecenia said,

    I really loved this salad, but MC Donald’s doesnt have it any more!!!!!! That sucks! ;(

  6. 6

    Ed Nemec said,

    The southwest salad was the first I have tried and it hit a home run with me. I have lost 30lbs eating salads, Lean Crusines, and fruit. When ever I eat out it is always a southwest salad from Mcdonalds. The price is worth it if it fits your life style goal on the road.

  7. 7

    ATB said,

    It’s great that the Southwest salad is back at Mickey D’s! It is not only a great meal at a great value, but is also great for your body in terms of nutrition and calories. The thing I like best about the salad is that it has flavor till the last bite. Most meals you enjoy the taste at the first few bites and then it becomes just another task that you need to finish with no excitement at the end. Each bite of the McDonalds’’ Southwest salad has a slight change in flavor since you are scoping up a little different mix each time.

  8. 8

    SandiL said,

    IT’S BACK! I just had one today (July 18th, 2008)

  9. 9

    Serena said,

    Just had the salad and while looking for the nutritional info, I found this site. It was FANTASTIC! It was filling, delicious and excited my taste buds! I’m not used to spicy food, so I had a little drizzle of the dressing which was just enough to give it added flavor without many more calories (the whole packet is 100 calories and 6 grams of fat). The $4.99 price is really not a lot for something that tastes this good and is good for you.

  10. 10

    Nurse Veronica said,

    It’s now 2009 and this salad rocks!! I agree with everyone about the flavor burst! It’s D-LISH and satisfies my appetite. I hope McD keeps it. I don’t know why it was discontinued to begin with.

  11. 11

    Jess said,

    This salad is delicious! I eat mine with 1/2 a serving of the dressing because I love the flavor and the spicy heat it adds to the salad.

    I have to say though, I am disappointed by the packaging of it. I wish they’d use less plastic and more biodegradable materials. Is the huge plastic bag (in addition to the plate/lid/flatware/sandwich bag) really necessary especially when all of the other meals come in paper sacks? More earth friendly packaging would make me love the salad even more.

    Great blog!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

